Shortsboy!

Shortsboy! WTF does that even mean. I love wearing shorts. I only wear shorts. I wear jeans/ pants so rarely that my friends are shocked everytime they seen me in Jeans. I’ve done everything and anything wearing shorts.

Roam around in college in sports. TICK.

Go to class in shorts. TICK.

Enter class 30mins late wearing shorts. TICK.

Meet faculty wearing shorts. TICK.

Go to fancy restaurants in shorts. TICK.

Go on dates with my girlfriend wearing shorts. TICK. (Luckily, I’ve gotten away with this one till now)

Sneak into Girls Hostel wearing shorts. TICK. (That’s a secret when this happened)

Sneaking into College by jumping over the wall wearing shorts. TICK. ( We had been locked outside because we were too late)

But there was one particular faculty who gave me the name- Shortsboy. Lets rewind to my Junior(3rd) year in College. I only had one class (Anand M’s class) in the evening for which I had to specially travel all the way to SJT(about 1.5KM from my room). If it was upto me I’d never go to class, but because of a stupid min 75% attendance policy I had to drag myself to the class. Over the course of the semester I was late by say 15mins(average) and as expected always wearing shorts. Now Anand M always tried to be a Comedian. He would try to make everyone laugh in class. One of the standard go to ways was pointing me out as the boy in shorts. And then telling everyone how could someone come to class in shorts(Wearing shorts in campus is banned). Again and again and again he’d call me the boy in shorts, but then one day he called the Shortsboy. No one else probably even noticed, but the word got stuck in my mind. I’ve never been able to take it out of my mind.Never looked back since then, I liked the sound of it… no matter how many LOL’s I get or how lame other people might think it is.

I love it.

The only sad part, Anand M is now the Programme Manager of CSE and i’m unable to meet him in shorts.

Miss those moments. Maybe I should try again. Enter the PM’s cabin wearing shorts. Just roll the dice and see what happens.

My mom told me once, if you can’t make fun of yourself don’t make fun of others.

Now that I’ve made fun of myself in my first article i don’t need to feel bad whenever I make fun of anyone else in any of my later articles.

My blog will be called Shortsboy and Sportsboy. This article lets you know why. I’ll be posting weekly articles on my blog about Sports, Entrepreneurship, Start-up’s and India. If there’s anything else you want me to write about let me know in the comments?

PS: If you’ve reached till here please don’t forget to Like/ Tweet. Thanks.

via pranavahuja.tumblr.com

One thought on “Shortsboy!

Leave a Reply

